Bowl Committee Seeks 2020 Honoree Recommendations

The Scarsdale Bowl Committee will begin work at its first official meeting on Sunday, December 8, 2019, to select the 2020 recipient of the Scarsdale Bowl award and is seeking recommendations from the community.

The Scarsdale Bowl, under the sponsorship of the Scarsdale Foundation, has been awarded annually since 1943 to an “individual (or in exceptional cases to a husband and wife) who has given unselfishly of his time, energy and effort to the civic welfare of the community of Scarsdale . . . .” The founding donors of the Bowl believed that “many who serve generously and voluntarily, without office, honor, or publicity, are those most deserving of having their names permanently inscribed on the Scarsdale Bowl.” The recipient must be a Scarsdale resident who does not currently hold elective office.

Nancy Michaels
Nancy Michaels

Nancy Michaels is serving as chair of this year’s Bowl Committee. Members of the committee serve staggered two-year terms. The members of the newly appointed class of 2021 are: Matthew Martin, Dana Matsushita, Jeff Robelen, Andrea Seiden, Janice Starr, and Amber Yusuf. The continuing class of 2020 includes Farley Baker, Karen Ceske, John Clapp, Dorothy Finger, Melpo Fite, Dara Gruenberg, and Bob Miller. Seth Ross, Scarsdale Foundation trustee, will serve on the committee as liaison, and Abby Sroka is continuing as the Committee’s secretary/treasurer. Randy Guggenheimer, president of the Scarsdale Foundation, is an ex officio, non-voting member.

The Scarsdale Bowl will be awarded at a dinner on Wednesday, April 22, 2020 at 6:30 p.m. at Brae Burn Country Club in Purchase. The ceremony will pay tribute to the 2020 honoree and to the spirit of volunteerism, central to the civic life of Scarsdale. This year’s theme is “Shine on Scarsdale.”

Suggest an honoree by completing the Scarsdale Bowl Nomination Form any time before the Bowl Committee’s first meeting, but preferably no later than Monday, November 25, 2019. Alternatively, you may contact the Bowl Chair directly (email or call 914-725-8310) or reach out to any current member of the committee with your recommendations.

Leave a Reply